Reiki is a unique form of alternative medicine known as energy healing. Reiki Masters use different techniques with their palms to transfer "healing energy" (also known as universal energy) in to the patient, encouraging emotional, psyche, and even physical healing. Reiki is not affiliated with any religious beliefs or used as a religious ritual. It's not considered a massage since physical contact is minimal if any. Due to the intense relaxing state Reiki is said to induce, its no surprise it continues to grow in popularity.



What is a Reiki Master?

Any person who receives "Third Degree Reiki Attunement " and who then has become qualified to give Reiki Attunement to others is commonly called a Reiki Master. However, even after completing all three levels of Reiki, one has to pass on Reiki attunement to others to truly become a Reiki Master. It is an enormous title that comes with honor and privilege. Don't be fooled though, obtaining status of Reiki Master only the beginning of a life long pursuit diligent self practice, self study & meditation.


Origins of Reiki:

Originating from Japan, Reiki combines the Japanese and Chinese word-characters of "rei" (spiritual or supernatural) and "ki" (vital energy). Mikao Usui is credited with rediscovering the root system now called Reiki. His tradition and methods were passed through several Reiki Grandmaster. Today, Reiki takes many forms, however, The Usui Shiki Ryoho is still the most popular one practiced today.


Usui Shiki Ryoho:

To help clarify the Usui Shiki Ryoho, the practice is held in the Nine Elements and the philosophy and understanding of the system is expressed by the Four Aspects. Together they define the system that Reiki Masters and students practice under the lineage of Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, Phyllis Lei Furumoto, and Johannes Reindl.

Philosophy and understanding of the system is expressed by the Four Aspects:

  • Healing Practice
  • Personal Development
  • Spiritual Discipline
  • Mystic Order

The Usui Shiki Ryoho practice is held in Nine Elements:

  • Initiation: The initiation is a sacred time when the student and Reiki Master experience communion with the energy of Reiki. This allows the experience of the initiations to be used in daily life, expanding the awareness of the student.
  • Treatment: The hands-on treatment of "First Degree" students is the foundation practice of the system. This includes self-treatment and treatment of other people as well as animals, plants, and our environment. 
  • Symbols: There are three symbols that are the sacred tools for "Second Degree" student. They are held as secret in order to preserve their integrity within this practice. This step is to acquaint the student with direct experience of the unseen dimensions of being human.
  • Oral Tradition: The quality of oral tradition contains the premise that the way the system is given to a student is by the personal presence of a master with the student. This element also contains the understanding that books containing the information of the actual practice do not benefit the student nor the system. Teaching manuals are not used and students are generally not allowed to take notes in classes.
  • Spiritual Lineage:
  • History: The history of Usui Shiki Ryoho describes the path of the practice. The portion of each lineage bearer's life in the story pertains directly to this path. As the master tells the story, there is a notable transmission of energy to the student.
  • Money: This challenges the practitioner to widen the scope of understanding regarding the energy of money and the energetic transmission that occurs when money is exchanged.
  • Precepts: The precepts begin by being rules of living, gradually becoming an ethical guideline to living with Reiki. The individual precepts are worded in a way to provoke questions in students. These questions open places of learning and teaching in daily life.
  • Form of Teaching: The class form is best presented in a way that supports and models the simplicity of the practice. There are two degrees or levels in Usui Shiki Ryoho. They are First Degree and Second Degree.
    The First Degree class is taught by a Reiki Master in four sessions of 2-3 hours duration in four consecutive days. The Second Degree class is offered to students who have taken the first degree class, have had some months (preferably years) of committed practice

Together they define the system that Reiki Masters and students practice under the lineage of Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata, Phyllis Lei Furumoto, and Johannes Reindl.

  1. The practice is for one's life or whatever time the practice suits and benefits the student. The teachings of the practice strengthen and deepen from daily and diligent practice of the student.
  2. Within the practice there are time and timing guidelines supporting the value of preparation for each step of studentship.
  3. Masters are recognized by their students and through this relationship the beginning teachings are passed on.
  4. The practice is a Japanese Healing Art through which a student can attain self-awareness, spiritual understanding, and daily experiences of healing.

Leave A Comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.